you used to be a stranger

Last week at the dinner table, we started talking about U2 and how I don’t like them. I will fully admit that I often don’t like things because everyone else does, but I truly believe my dislike for U2 transcends that. I really just don’t like them, other than a few songs. This led to a discussion of Pet Shop Boys and how I like their version of Where the Streets Have No Name better and Mike laughed at me because the only Pet Shop Boys song that he knows is Go West. And that’s a pretty lame song. So then I started defending Pet Shop Boys, which led into a discussion of the music I listened to in high school, and the night ended with me determined to make a CD chalk full of the stuff that I listened to for Mike. Then I spent the rest of the night going down memory lane in the form of my external hard drive. Man, so much good music! I thought I would share one of my favorites from back in the day.

New Order: Regret

The playlist also includes: bjork, blur, cocteau twins, cranes, depeche mode, echo & the bunnymen, erasure, frazier chorus, his name is alive, james, lightning seeds, luna, mazzy star, morrissey, OMD, shelleyan orphan, siouxsie, slowdive, the smiths, spiritualized, the sundays, this mortal coil, trash can sinatras, and xymox. Kylie, what am I missing? (I decided against This Ascension because it was just too weird… even though I loved it so much. Oh my stars.)

9 comments

  1. kylie · June 1, 2010

    I really think you got most of it, but you know I love Duran Duran too. 🙂

  2. kylie · June 1, 2010

    Oh and Gene.

    • ktelaine · June 1, 2010

      Oh, I did add a gene song, but forgot to mention them. Sadly, I don’t have any Duran Duran. Must remedy that.

  3. Amanda Nicholas · June 1, 2010

    It’s amazing how music can take you back, years and years. This song brings with it such a wonderful feeling. Freedom! I love all that music. Thanks for sharing and for taking me there where I’ve not been for a while. Love you!

  4. Amanda Nicholas · June 1, 2010

    I just went to Grooveshark and filled my playlist with OMD, so good!

  5. Mike · June 1, 2010

    That was good. Thanks. I just want it to be clear that I am not nuts about U2 either.

  6. ktelaine · June 1, 2010

    The thing about U2 is that it always smells of church dances and awkward blind dates.

  7. kylie · June 1, 2010

    SO TRUE. Hey, you should send me your mix by the way! I want to hear it! 🙂

  8. Tom · June 1, 2010

    U2 ain’t so great. Go West on the other hand is terrific! You and Mike are wrong for thinking it lame.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

