NOMA (revisited)

While Kellie was here, we went to the New Orleans Museum of Art. I’m really pleased with this museum. Every time I go there is something different. The only sad thing is that it’s no longer free to Louisiana residents. Here are just a few of the paintings I noticed on this visit and then, seriously, the most random, wonderful exhibit is there right now.

I love this piece by Chagall. It is so sweet and tender.

(a few details)

I never noticed this portrait of King Louis XVI by Antoine-Francois Callet before. I especially like the crown as part of the frame.

And the lace detailing.

But probably the best part of this museum experience was the temporary exhibit in the contemporary wing. I have never heard of Quintron and Miss Pussycat, but apparently they’re all over the Internet (and also local, which is awesome). Miss Pussycat creates these endearing puppets and then stages plays with them.

Some of the videos are playing at the museum. Kellie and I sat down to watch one called Spirit Hair, and it was the perfect mix of WTF and delight. Here are the reactions of some old people.

I have been searching and searching to find the Spirit Hair video online somewhere without any luck. However, I did find some videos by Miss Pussycat using some of the same puppets. I highly recommend checking this out.

WTF and delight, am I right?

Her husband (and bandmate) is in the room next door. He was living in the museum for 5 days while he created a brand new song. (How amazing would it be to live in a museum? It’d be like The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler.) I would have liked to talk to him about it, but the signs clearly say not to.

We did, however, get to try out the Drum Buddy.

Overall, a very successful trip to the museum. And now I’m going to check out the tour dates for Quintron and Miss Pussycat. (July 16th for all my SLC friends… I’d totally put that on my calendar!)

One comment

  1. kimmie · May 8, 2010

    I LOVE that book! I read it again a year or so again since I hadn’t read it since I was a kid. I always thought it would be fun to live in a museum after reading that!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

