I still have me

Last Thursday, I went to the temple in Baton Rouge after work. I got there a little early, so I sat in a garden behind the temple for a while and just let myself be. The sun was already starting to set. There were a few birds chirping on the fence and one had a throaty kind of call. I wished I knew what kind it was. Or I wished that my friend, Ruth, was there because she would know. After my session, I drove the hour and a half back to New Orleans. I love the drive between New Orleans and Baton Rouge in the summer. It’s green year-round, but even more verdant in the summer. Even in the darkness, I could sense the thickness of the trees choked by flowering vines. I was feeling ponderous and nostalgic. I went to the temple on Thursday because it was my ten-year anniversary of when I first attended the temple before leaving on a mission, so I reflected back to those days. And I listened to some music that I haven’t in a long time.

One of the first bands I ever truly loved was the Cocteau Twins. The first CD I ever received was Head Over Heels and from there I went on to collect every one of their albums, including some rare B-sides (back when there were B-sides) and some Christmas music, even though I’m not really a fan of Christmas music. I used to put at least one song on every mix that I made and would listen to them frequently, but in the past few years, I just haven’t. However, they still have a permanent position in my ipod, so I started listening to some of my favorites while I was driving home. Here is one of them:

The Cocteau Twins: Half-Gifts

This version is from the Twinlights album and has a different feel than the original version on Milk & Kisses. I like the version on M&K, but this one was always my favorite. I actually never knew the lyrics (one of the charms of the Cocteau Twins pre-Internet was making up most of the lyrics yourself), but I did a search for them when I began this entry. The meaning I gave the song is actually pretty close to the original. Anyway, I know the Cocteau Twins aren’t really for everyone, but they have a very dear place in my heart and they might show up again.

2 comments

  1. Amanda Nicholas · April 20, 2010

    For me the “Twins” mean family, love, home. I’ve heard their music coming from your room growing up. And the tapes you made me and cd’s have that flavor. A flavor I love! Thanks for sharing and taking me back there, to that time when we were so ….. There music is beautiful!

  2. Kylie · April 20, 2010

    You know I love them. Thanks for getting me into them! They will always be one of my favorites as well. 🙂

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

