Stellllllaaaaaaa!!!!!

Two weeks ago the annual Tennessee Williams Festival was held here in New Orleans. One of the highlights of the festival is the Stella/Stanley shouting contest in the French Quarter. I borrowed Amanda’s camera so I could capture video and share it with y’all.

Turns out, a lot of people want to check out the contest, and by the time I got there moments before it was about to start, a large crowd had already gathered. I couldn’t see anything, so I skirted the crowd trying to find a better spot. I never did find one, but I saw lots of gents in white undershirts and jeans with contestant numbers. I also saw some people who looked like they were attending the wrong festival.

They must have thought ol’ Tenn Williams wrote A Pirate Ship Named Desire.

Finally, the woman playing Stella and the winner of last year’s competition showed up to be yelled at.

I couldn’t get close enough to see the contestants, but I imagine they are on their knees begging and that at least one of them ripped his shirt off in agony. But for your listening pleasure, a few of the contestants.

IMO, they are no Brandos. They aren’t even a Flanders.

One comment

  1. Amanda Nicholas · April 8, 2010

    Katie that was a really fun post. I love the pirate joke and their costumes were pretty cool. I wish we could’ve gotten a glimpse of the “Stanleys”. They were pretty loud -eh

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

