Seattle Day 3: Washington Park Arboretum

During that networking lunch when I talked to the other attendee who lives in Seattle, she asked me what kinds of places I was interested in seeing. I responded that I wanted to take some photos and that I would love to go somewhere with trees in blossoms. Naturally, she suggested the Japanese Tea Garden at the Washington Park Arboretum. I figured out the bus schedule and left the conference just a little early so I could get there before it closed. I ended up missing a big announcement and demonstration for one of the authoring tools we use at work (oops), but that won’t matter so much when I’m 80 and I’m remembering the perfect afternoon I had wandering around.

First up, the Japanese Tea Garden.

I had lots of time before meeting up with Tom for dinner, so after enjoying the tea garden, I followed a promising path in the arboretum and found puh-lenty of trees in bloom. Some were hidden away, and I would try to hike up to them. Unfortunately, the muddy hills made that a little treacherous.

I couldn’t pass up the chance to take a self-portrait with such a beautiful background.

8 comments

  1. Amanda Nicholas · March 31, 2010

    You mean you couldn’t pass up an opportunity to show how great you look in the Japanese Tea Garden, both are beautiful! I loooove all the pictures with the blossoms but I especially love the close up of the blossom with the sun peeking out behind it. Wish it was my back yard.

  2. melodydays · March 31, 2010

    These photos are soooo beautiful. I would totally frame them and put them in my house! In fact, I totally want to! So anyway, good job!

  3. Jennifer Youngman · April 2, 2010

    Thank you for this delightful post! We linked to it on the UW Botanic Gardens page on Facebook.

    • ktelaine · April 3, 2010

      Thanks for linking to my blog! Visiting the gardens was really one of the highlights of my trip. I wish I lived nearby so I could take advantage year-round.

  4. personalgardencoach · April 2, 2010

    Seriously great photos. Good timing too for the gardens to shine!

    • ktelaine · April 3, 2010

      Thank you! It really was so lovely.

  5. kelliebuelo · April 4, 2010

    Beautiful! This post has me jonesing for spring time.

  6. Pingback: pink love |

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

