Seattle Day 1: Pike’s Place and the Space Needle

When I arrived in Seattle, the sun was shining and it was nice and warm! In the past three years, I have been to Seattle three times and each time, it has been cold and rainy and dreary. Not that that kind of weather doesn’t have a certain depressive charm, but as a tourist, it’s so much nicer to wander a city and enjoy it when the weather is fine. I couldn’t wait to drop off my suitcase at the hotel and start wandering. Two blocks from my hotel and guess what… it started raining. Welcome to Seattle, I guess. Whatever, though. I’m from the South now. I know sudden downpours, so I just made my way to a covered area, along with everyone else on the streets.

But I didn’t just stare out the window. I found cover in one of the most magical of Seattle’s tourist traps – Pike’s Place! I can’t help it. I love the crowds, the neon signs, the flowers, the fish, the produce, the knit hats.

But deep down in the alleys of Pike’s Place, you will also find a secret exhibit of the World’s Largest Shoes.

I lucked out when I first arrived and those velvet curtains were parted. I actually got to see the shoes, and they were giant indeed.

Pike’s Place will also test your brain. I went to use the restroom, and had to try and remember if women are xx or xy. (hint: you can cheat by waiting to see where the other females go.)

The rainshower didn’t last long, so I was able to venture out again. There was the balloon man. He always looks so sad to me. Maybe it’s because the first time I saw him was three years ago, and he was slumped over a cup of coffee. It was raining outside then, and I’m sure business wasn’t great. He looked a little jollier that day.

A few more photos from the area:

I went from one tourist hot spot to another… it’s just so convenient when the monorail to the Space Needle is right outside my hotel. And since it was a sunny day, I did something I haven’t done since I was 15: I went to the top. It was windy there.

Coming up: The Olympic Sculpture Garden.

3 comments

  1. Kitty · March 27, 2010

    Delightful!

  2. senja · March 28, 2010

    Oh, so pretty! I definately want to go to Seattle one day – also isn’t that where they filmed Sleeplees in Seattle on top of the building? 🙂

  3. Pingback: Give-Away #1 |

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

