A Splash of Polish

I’m going to make a (possibly embarrassing) confession: I am really into fantasy books lately. I mean, it’s not that unbelievable, I guess. I’ve always liked them and read some off and on. I just finished the Abhorsen Trilogy by Garth Nix (and absolutely loved it! the audiobooks are read by Tim Curry and they’re incredible) and the first book in the Obernewtyn Chronicles (a gift from Kylie, so I still have to buy more of them). And then my Internet friends (yep, nerdy) were talking on and on about this series of books, so I decided to give them a try. I started listening to the first book last week and it was the bright spot of each day. (Also, I’m fairly sure that this book is responsible for having a song from Camelot stuck in my head for the past week. I know, I know.. there’s no real comparison between A Game of Thrones and Camelot – but knights and tournaments? At least give me that.)

Normally when I listen to audiobooks, I only do so at work. But I got so wrapped up in this books, that I started listening to it while driving around town, and then last Saturday night after we finished off Season 1 of Arrested Development, I started listening to it after everyone else had gone to bed.

Turns out, I can’t just listen to a book. I have to keep my hands occupied, so I finally got around to painting my toe nails. Then I liked the color so much and I was dying to find out what happened to Lord Stark, so I kept on painting my fingernails. I haven’t painted my fingernails in at least 10 years for two main reasons. 1) My hands are child-sized with short, stubby fingers. I think painting my nails makes them look even shorter and stubbier. 2) I have this strange feeling that my fingernails can’t breathe when they are painted so I immediately start picking the paint off. I assumed that I would only keep the polish on for maybe an hour. But it turns out that I kind of like having my nails painted. They feel so dainty and colorful.

I have a suspicion that I won’t be passing by the rainbow racks of polish any more. It’s a good thing, too, because I’ve already chipped away at five nails, and I’m just about to start A Clash of Kings.

5 comments

  1. Johanna · January 26, 2010

    I think your fingers look great! I love the colour as well.

  2. kel · January 27, 2010

    my fingernails also feel like they are suffocating when they’re painted. but that is a very nice shade of red.

  3. Kyle T. · February 1, 2010

    Katie,

    I really like the A Song of Fire and Ice series. It’s not quite Tolkien or Robert Jordan, but very good. Hope you’re enjoying them. Oh, just be sure not to get too attached to any of the characters.

    Hope all is well. Jenn and I would like to get back to New Orleans if possible this summer.

  4. Sue Ann Armstrong · February 3, 2010

    I love your little hands and cute little feet 🙂
    Mom

  5. Pingback: Special Announcement! |

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

