Merry Christmas!

For the past several years, we have celebrated Christmas on Christmas Eve. This schedule works better with the various in-laws, but I think I prefer it this way. It’s so pleasant to open presents with the Christmas lights and candles glowing. So we gathered at Matt and Izzy’s for dinner and gifts.

Peter has been watching Toy Story 2, which he calls hee-haw, non-stop the past two weeks leading up to Christmas, so the Buzz Lightyear was really big hit.

He was so excited that he was jumping up and down.

And then he showed it off to everyone in the room.

A few weeks ago, I had ordered a Snow White doll for Claire, but then last week, I was going through photos of Christmases past and discovered she had received the same doll about three years ago. I made an extra trip to the toy store and came out with this.

I think she liked it. She opened it up right away and started making a card.

She gave the card to Amanda.

Don’t worry… Penny got some presents, too.

But like most babies, she had more fun with the wrapping.

After opening presents, we got to just enjoy the tree and the lights and being together.

Matt asked me to take a family picture of them, so we got Claire to sit down for a minute.

But after one snap, she was out of there.

Amanda, Mike, Peter and Penny came to Utah a week before me, and of course, during that week apart Penny took her first steps.

I guess all that step-taking and present-getting tired her out.

This Christmas has been especially nice since I wasn’t able to be with all of my family last year. I’ve had a few Christmases on my own, and they are nice in their own way, but spending it with my family is the best.

One comment

  1. kimmie · January 7, 2010

    After looking at these pictures, Sophie insists that she “needs that big Buzz Lightyear!”

    At least you noticed that Claire already had that Snow White doll! Bummer though that you already ordered it!

    My niece Paisley got that same little school set! It’s adorable!

    Love you!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

