Not a Stitch to Wear

Last night I had some friends over for dinner, so after church, I put on some basketball shorts and a t-shirt and started cooking and getting everything cleaned up. I put all the laundry away in my closet and decided to shut the door so the room would look really nice. Somehow, though, the closet locked on me. It locks from the insde and supposedly there is a key to the closet door, but i have never seen one. So i had just locked all of my clothes away. It was past 5 o’clock and guests would be arriving in less than an hour. Not to mention, all of my pants and skirts and nice shirts for work (and upcoming trip to Utah) were now locked away in the closet. And since I had just done laundry in preparation for the trip, EVERYTHING was put away. I had nothing else to wear. I was desperate! I mean, not that it was a big deal to have my friends come over and find me in my ratty clothes (although, I had wanted dinner to be somewhat nice), but what about work the next day? What about the trip?! I didn’t want to call a locksmith because $$$. So I called a friend to ask if he could help me out with getting the door off its hinges hoping that would be a good work around. He kindly came over and after a bit of work (it’s an old door with creaky hinges), he got the hinges out, but the door still wouldn’t budge. Then he tried wriggling a flathead screwdriver in between the door and the frame and after some maneuvering, he was able to get the door open. I was so relieved. But I will never shut my closet door again.

3 comments

  1. Kitty · December 21, 2009

    Now that is a great story!

  2. melodydays · December 21, 2009

    Wow, that is crazy! I’m so glad you were saved in time. 🙂

  3. Sue Anne · December 23, 2009

    You could add a piece of tape to the lock, which would allow you close the closet door, but it wouldn’t lock.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

