Logansport, Indiana

Welcome to historic Logansport, Indiana! It’s so old, its overpasses have cave paintings.

This town is forward-thinking though. Their buildings step up in height just like cell phone signal bars.

And convenience stores made even more convenient because you can drive through them!

I really liked the font on the City Building.

It looks like pacman.

The reason we chose to visit Logansport out of the many other small towns in Indiana is because Erica’s boyfriend, Kevin (or BK as he’s affectionately known) used to work for the Pharos Tribune, before he was deported back to England. Here’s his old place of work.

The other reason to visit Logansport? They have an awesome carousel!

Too bad some kid was having her birthday party there so it was closed to the public. Logansport has some beautiful historic homes.

And some historic homes that need a little work.

I’m not sure how I feel about the restoration efforts here, though.

I feel like those colors work well in New Orleans, but I’d like something more conservative in the Midwest. I think the next house was my favorite.

It could use some fixing up and some tall trees, but I love the basic shape of the house. Speaking of houses, they are apparently pretty cheap in Indiana. Here’s one for less than $50,000!!

And you know, Logansport wouldn’t be that bad to live in. They have a Mr. Happy Burger.

Along with this lovely little park near the confluence of the Wabash and Eel Rivers.

It was the perfect spot for some self-timer photos.

Ooops… too close. Let’s try that again.

Much better.

We wandered around town some more. I saw a cemetery in the distance and naturally headed that direction.

On our way out of Logansport, we ate more of the cookies we bought at the Stone House Bakery and thought how much better they would be with some milk, but we didn’t want to stop at a store. And then we remembered – the Zip Thru!

We briefly stopped in Monticello on our way home. Erica humored me by pausing at this abandoned warehouse that caught my fancy.

I love that Erica is perfectly fine stopping on the side of the road on our way home just because I really wanted a picture of the sun setting over the cornfields.

That seems like a pleasant way to end my entries from my trip to Indiana.

4 comments

  1. b. · November 27, 2009

    Whoa, Logansport is rad.

  2. Izzy · November 27, 2009

    Where are all the people? It’s like Logansport THE DAY AFTER!!! Oh and is it Logans port or Logan sport? Anyway you so funny lady.

  3. Kylie · November 28, 2009

    You guys are ADORABLE in that photo together! Looks like a fun time. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Special Announcement! |

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

