Franny and Zooey

After I graduated from Purdue and moved back to Salt Lake, Erica adopted two cats to attempt to fill the void that my leaving created in her life. I guess it worked pretty well because I’ve been hearing about the antics of Franny and Zooey ever since, and I could not wait to meet them for myself.

Here’s Franny:

Isn’t she just adorable? She’s so tiny, even though she’s full grown, and I love all her coloring. This cat absolutely loves catnip and will go crazy for it. She also loves water bottle houses, as you can see:

She stayed in that little house for hours. Meet Zooey:

Turns out I never got such a great picture of Zooey, but here he is in front of the kitchen window. I just love a cat silhouette with their ears sticking up and their tail curved around their body. It felt so homey in Erica’s cute apartment on the third floor of a historic home in Lafayette. I loved the sloping ceilings, dormer windows, and walls lined with books and photos.

The ironic thing about Erica’s current apartment is that it one of my other close friends in Lafayette, Liz. Erica discovered this when she got a piece of mail addressed to my friend (a church friend known only by name to Erica, an academic friend – I guess I kept those worlds pretty separate). We thought it would be fun to invite Liz over to her old apartment for dinner. I always daydream about visiting places I used to live and seeing how different it looks furnished by other people’s things. So Erica made the most delicious shredded pork burritos while I watched her and noticed the other unwanted pets Erica has hanging around her kitchen… ladybugs.

Each one of those red circles has a ladybug in the center of it, and those were only the ones I could fit in. I know they are a pest and Erica gets tired of finding them all around (and confession: I even found one in my bra), but I can’t help but think it’s kind of sweet. I mean, ladybugs! Much better than spiders, right?

So Liz came for dinner and we had such a great night catching up and chatting and playing with the cats.

I like it when friends from different spheres get along, which always makes me think that I should have brought those worlds together more often.

p.s. Ok, that last picture of Franny playing was actually taken the next morning, but it fit in so much better with this post. Also, does anyone recognize the show on TV? 5 points if you can correctly identify it in the comments.

5 comments

  1. Izzy · November 24, 2009

    Can’t buy me love?

  2. Kylie · November 24, 2009

    Man! That’s what I was going to guess!!! 🙂

  3. Krick · November 24, 2009

    Crap, I’m too late. Can’t Buy Me Love was my guess.

  4. amanda a · November 24, 2009

    ladybugs!? i’d take those over cockroaches any day!

  5. ktelaine · November 25, 2009

    ding ding ding!! you’re all winners. that was too easy!

    and Amanda, yes! I would much rather have ladybugs than cockroaches. I think I’d rather have spiders than cockroaches.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

