I Can Watch the Country Side

I just got back from a quick weekend trip to Pensacola Beach with some friends. Usually I like to drive when I go on roadtrips because… well, I like driving a lot. I love the freedom it gives me. I love the front seat view to the world as I pass by. And I guess I like being in control. I was planning to drive this weekend, but after compiling all of our luggage, we realized we’d need a much bigger car, so Aaron drove his 4Runner, and I took a backseat. It was really quite refreshing.

One afternoon in the winter of 2007 when I was living in Salt Lake, I took Claire to my friend Jenn’s house to make gingerbread houses. It had snowed all morning, and I was worried we wouldn’t make it from Salt Lake to Sandy, but Claire was so excited about the activity that I didn’t want to let her down. We decided to brave the snowy roads. While stopped at a red light, I looked through the rear view mirror to check on Claire. She was busy tracing hearts in the foggy windows, and it instantly reminded me of the years I sat in the backseat. All the long drives to Cache Valley or Montana where I would follow raindrops down the window or play tic-tac-toe in the fog. The hours I spent daydreaming from the backseat. And I remembered this song by the Arcade Fire.

The Arcade Fire: In the Backseat

One comment

  1. Jenn · November 25, 2009

    I remember that day–it was so snowy! And we had so much fun. I should send you the recipe and patterns for the cookie houses so Claire can make another one.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

