Delphi, Indiana

Erica and I have a tradition of visiting small towns in Indiana. During my two years there, we went on outings to communities like Crawfordsville, Kokomo, Frankfort, and even Otterbein. So when Erica asked me what I wanted to do on my visit, I answered without hesitation that I really wanted to visit a random small town. We decided on Logansport. Delphi was just a bonus.

On the way into town, Erica told me about how the community had raised money to create a replica of an old canal boat, and then it was burned down by an old man. We had heard that another one was built, so we tried to find it. The closes we got, though, was this playground.

Looks like they are building some sort of interpretive center in the park though. Maybe on future visits to Delphi (it might happen), I can check it out.

Meanwhile, there are lots of other sites to check out in Delphi… like old buildings!

And some newer buildings:

And some old buildings attempting to look newer:

Or just this awesome Chinese restaurant.

With very bright bricks!

There is, of course, the town War Memorial, but this one looks more threatening than most.

What with the pointy guns on each corner and all.

But the best place to visit in Delphi? The Stone House Bakery.

It’s the kind of place where you can sit at the counter and enjoy some baked goods in peace.

Or meet up with an old girlfriend (or possibly your mom) and enjoy a slice of pie.

Or where the display of cookies looks so tempting that you say, “I’ll take one of each!”

Apparently they are re-routing the major highway so it won’t go through Delphi anymore, but the cookies are worth the extra miles.

3 comments

  1. Erica · November 20, 2009

    I think you should link to this story instead πŸ˜‰ http://www.pharostribune.com/archivesearch/local_story_347130000.html

  2. Erica · November 20, 2009

    And I found this update…http://www.pharostribune.com/archivesearch/local_story_154232048.html … Kevin said the boat should be in the canal and I was like… um, no, not there. πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Logansport, Indiana «

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

