Purdue Revisited

I spent this past weekend in Indiana visiting Erica and basically saying either “oh, I remember that place!” or “awww… the good old _______________.” Visiting Lafayette felt very strange in a way. I graduated 2.5 years ago and I haven’t been back since that time. It doesn’t seem very long, so it surprised me how much I had forgotten about Lafayette. I couldn’t even remember how to get on the Union Street bridge, and it was something I used to cross three or four times each day. But at the same time, everything was familiar. Of course, one of the first places we went was to campus. Erica showed me her grad office at Recitation Hall.

It’s much more cozy and decorated than mine ever was. And it has a drawer full of candy! I attended a History Department brownbag with her about choosing a dissertation topic and writing your prospectus. Good old grad school. How I both loved and hated you and how I sometimes still miss you. At the same time, how happy I am that I don’t have to choose a topic or write a prospectus. Then we visited all the old places.

I have always been fascinated by the stacks at the library. If they didn’t keep it at approximately 100-degrees in there, and if I had ever been one to study at the library, I might have studied there.

We walked past Heavilon Hall, where the English Department is housed and where my old office used to be.

But first we paused to listen to the squeak in the cobblestone circles just outside the building. If you stand right in the middle and clap your hands, it squeaks instead of claps. It’s basically the only thing I know to show people when they would come to visit me on campus.

Here’s a lovely picture of Erica.

Fact: The picture below of Erica is the most viewed picture of all my flickr pictures.

Then we ventured over to an area of campus I didn't visit much because it's full of engineering buildings. But it’s nice all the same.

We passed by Hawkins Hall on our way back to the car.

Erica lived in one of those tiny little rooms our first year at Purdue. I have fond memories of hanging out there and watching tv. Ahh… those were the days.

Our next stop was kind of on campus, so I thought I’d group it with these pictures. The Recycling Center:

I didn’t have a lot of love for Purdue during my two years there. Why? That’s another post in itself, I guess, but visiting it again with a camera rather than my books reminded me that it’s actually a really nice campus and I have a lot of really great memories associated with it. Go boilermakers! (more school spirit to come)

One comment

  1. Tom · November 17, 2009

    Now I feel incredibly guilty that I didn’t do more to spruce up the office while you were in there. On the other hand, don’t underestimate your contributions–like the Candy Cauldron.

    Sigh. Those were the days. My office now houses round abouts 30 people.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

