I blame 4:30 a.m.

Two things you need to know for this story:

1) I live in an old house with lots of charm but no electrical outlet in my bathroom. This means, my desk is also used as a vanity, and I do my hair and make-up in my room.

2) I have curly hair. This means that I don’t need a mirror to do it (luckily), but it’s also taken me a while to figure out the best way to do my hair. After many, many products, I finally found one I really like, Confixor by Aveda. It works like a dream for me, but unfortunately has a rather strong smell. I don’t mind it, but my sister hates it and has suggested I look into another product. That wasn’t going to happen until I ran out of Confixor, which I knew would last me many a month.

That is, until the yesterday morning. After showering, I went to my desk/vanity, opened the top drawer, and pulled out an empty bottle of Confixor. The whole bottle had emptied into my drawer when, the day before, in the fog of waking up at 4:30 a.m. to take my mom to the airport, I had put the bottle away with the lid open. It was everywhere. In desperation, I pulled out the drawer and took everything out of it and laid the soaked products on a towel…

make-up drawer

and then tried to drain everything else back into the bottle. There wasn’t much left, but at least I got a little.

what's left of my confixor

The biggest problem, though? I didn’t have time to clean everything up before work, so I left the drawer on my bed and shut the door. After work, I walked in my room and had to walk right back out again. The smell! It was overwhelming! It was like walking into a jar of Icy Hot. While I had been hard at work, the Confixor had been slowly seeping through the drawer left on my bed, through my sheet and mattress pad and into my mattress. It was on the products from the drawer, in the mattress, and all over the floor. I’ve had the windows open and fans going for two days. The smell is weaker now, but it’s still there. A pungent reminder to never wake up at 4:30 a.m. again.

2 comments

  1. Jenn · November 8, 2009

    Love Confixor, not the smell. Most Aveda products are awesome but they smell so strong!!!

  2. kellie · November 11, 2009

    Ah, sad! I hope you find a replacement product. I personally love Aveda stuff because it smells like hippies. In a good way. But I guess I don’t know about that particular product. Does it smell like patchouli mixed with wet dirt? HEAVEN.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

