What an Unproductive Thing to Say

I used to wonder how my parents stopped listening to current music. At what point was it? I never imagined that I would stop hearing new things because there is always the radio. Then I stopped listening to the radio. And I stopped buying anything new. And I really just wanted to hear songs where I knew all the words already. And I just felt like listening to a certain song. Over and over again. And those songs that I already knew were packed full of meaning and memory, and the other songs felt empty beside them. Without realizing it, I had stopped listening to current music.

So this week’s Music Monday is a throwback to one of high school favorites.

Frazier Chorus: We Love You

3 comments

  1. Kylie · October 27, 2009

    You know I love it. 😉

  2. Tom · October 27, 2009

    I think this has to do with the sad fact that at some point radio forsakes its listeners. Programming directors still (have always?) catered to 14 year-olds because they have the time and disposable income to toss away on new things that are, more or less, bereft of meaning–except for that meaning that they can immediately instill a song with during this, their most emotionally-charged (hormones!) part of their lives. This makes me a little sad because what few independent radio stations there are have to program for every person let down by regular radio, that is, the constantly-increasing population of people over 14. Sure, I like the diversity of indie radio, but you hear one Joe Jackson song too many and you tune it out for a couple of weeks. Ho hum.

  3. kelliebuelo · November 2, 2009

    I don’t think I’ve QUITE hit that point yet, although I think the downloading/piracy age has totally made music more disposable to me now. It’s not the same as the days you saved your money to buy a CD and couldn’t wait to tear into it. I still have a place in my heart for the music I acquired the old fashioned way.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

