Cristen and the Big Easy, Day 3

nottoway plantation

On Cristen’s last day in town, we drove out to Nottoway Plantation about an hour and a half northwest of New Orleans. I saw Nottoway in a magazine a couple of weeks ago and really wanted to check it out. The house, as you can see, is absolutely beautiful and exactly what I picture a plantation house to look like. I’ve been listening to the audiobook of Gone with the Wind at work over the past week or two, so I’ve had plantations on my mind. I could definitely imagine Scarlett O’Hara right at home here. And for those of you who can’t travel this far south, don’t worry… as usual, I got a little click-happy with the camera.

The picture above is actually a side view of the house. Here is the front:

nottoway facade

Here’s a different side view:

nottoway side view

I liked these stumpy palm trees out front.

stubby palms at nottoway

This is our tour guide, Cissy. She had a nice southern drawl and talked about the yankees. Interesting fact about the house – it wasn’t completed until 1859, two years before the start of the Civil War.

our tour guide, cissy

Let’s take a look around inside. First, the front room, and my favorite room of the house.

nottoway front room fireplace

nottoway front room

nottoway front room

nottoway plantation seating area

I just love how bright the white floor is, regardless of how practical it is. Can’t you just imagine Scarlett O’Hara in those rooms? Maybe this will help.

Scarlett O'Hara Hamilton Kennedy Butler at Nottoway Plantation

But that was just the beginning of the beautiful rooms. There was also the dining room:

nottoway dining room

Where each place setting displayed a unique love scene. And if you had outstayed your welcome, you were served a cold dinner.

nottoway dinnerware

There was the ladies’ drawing room:

nottoway drawing room

The music room, where they apparently passed the evening with dueling pianofortes:

nottoway music room

And a bedroom:

nottoway bedroom

The bed was custom made for the original owners of the house and the story goes that Mrs. Randolph hid her treasures from the Yankees in the bed posts. Scarlett, on the other hand, hid her valuables in a baby’s diaper. Both very clever.

There is a window that leads out to the back porch.

nottoway window door

And you can barely see the Mississippi over the levee from the adjacent balcony.

nottoway mississippi view

I want to share just a few more of the beautiful details of the house with you.

nottoway frieze work

nottoway lovely details

I swear these are the same curtains Scarlett uses to make her famous dress.

nottoway curtains

Or at least, pretty close. We did much more than just the plantation, but I think I’ll wait to post about the rest of the day. Don’t want to overload with too many pictures.

6 comments

  1. grettir · October 16, 2009

    These last few posts have got me thinking…are you familiar with Kirsten Sparenborg’s turn-of-the-centuries blog? I think it might be right up your alley.

    Your photos of New Orleans are fantastic, by the way…

    • ktelaine · October 16, 2009

      Thank you so much for pointing me toward Kirsten’s blog. It’s definitely up my alley. And thank you for the compliment about my photos. That is high praise coming from you. šŸ™‚

  2. Amanda Nicholas · October 16, 2009

    That’s the most amazing of all the plantations yet! It’s awesome. I’d drive to see it.
    Was the floor really white when they lived there? Beautifully photographed.

  3. kristy · October 17, 2009

    Incredible friend! Oh how I want to visit a plantation. You and I should swap places for a couple of weeks.

  4. kellie · October 18, 2009

    Wow, beautiful! Ah, remember touring the Charleston plantations? Such fun.

    That white floor has me curled up in the fetal position crying just *thinking* about trying to keep it clean. :p

  5. Kitty · October 18, 2009

    What a coincidence! I am re-reading GWTW at the moment, too. I love that book so much. I wish I could visit a plantation, too.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

