Pensacola Beach

Turns out if you drive just 3 hours east from here, you arrive at this:

blue waters

Pretty much the most beautiful beaches around. The weather was perfect. The beaches were sandy. The water was warm and salty. It was the perfect place to spend a long weekend.

boardwalk

peter at the beach

blue eyes

wind barriers

I can’t remember the last time I went swimming in the ocean (err, gulf, whatever). I loved rolling with the waves. It reminded me of swimming in Whitefish Lake when I was a kid in Montana, but the water I gulped each time I got bowled over was definitely saltier.

seabathing
|Excuse the farmer tan… or lack of tan altogether.|

We spent time hunting for treasure along the shore. All sorts of pretty shells.

seashell

Of course my battery died right at sunset. I borrowed Amanda’s, so I’ll probably add more photos later. They might include things like clouds, beach, sea turtle and a ghost crab! But for now, this is all I got.

sunset at dunes

On our way home, we stopped at the National Naval Aviation Museum. There were lots of planes.

planes, planes, and planes

And I got to finally fulfill my dream of being a Top Gun pilot.

negative ghostrider, the pattern is full

But it may come as no surprise that my favorite part of the museum was actually the recreation of this 1940s kitchen in the homefront exhibition.

so homey

I was spoiled with four consecutive four-day weeks last month. Now it’s back to work and a full five-day week. Blerg.

5 comments

  1. Kylie · September 22, 2009

    That looks like so much fun! By the way, you are becoming the most amazing photographer! I LOOOOOVE that one of you (or someone) holding the sea shell. It is seriously so cool. And the ones of the kids are so beautiful. You really capture great moments (I know: cheeeeesy). Anyway… can’t wait to see more! ^_^

  2. kelliebuelo · September 22, 2009

    pretty! looks like such a great time. i agree with Kylie, you take some really great photos. I love looking at your pictures. man, i love the beach.

  3. ktelaine · September 22, 2009

    aww.. thanks you guys! it’s easy to take pretty pictures when you have a pretty subject, though.

  4. Pingback: Pensacola Poladroids «
  5. Pingback: Special Announcement! |

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

