Go Green Wave!

tulane football action

When Mike offered me a ticket to the opening Tulane football game, I found myself saying yes. Why not? The ticket was free and it’s where all the cool kids were going to be that night. And it meant I finally got to see the inside of the Superdome. Plus, it might surprise my friends back home to learn that I’ve actually grown to like football. It all started with Friday Night Lights, where the relationship parts made the football parts watchable. But then I would watch some college games last fall, ending with the Utes at the Sugar Bowl (and I actually watched the whole game by myself on tv because I wanted to), and Mike would explain the game to me now so that I finally understand what a first down is and that’s made the whole game much more interesting. So we headed with a few hundred other fans to the Tulane v. Tulsa game. Here’s the Superdome:

Superdome!

It’s massive!! And oddly pretty in a way. It reminds me (and I’m sure many others) of a spaceship.

spaceship or superdome?

Unless you happen to see the Cake Wrecks version of the Superdome, which just looks strange.

cakewrecks_Dana W

As massive as it was on the outside, though, it seems even bigger inside. Which is good because there are so many fans to fill the seats.

true fan, but empty seats

But surely, those are just the old folks who like to sit away from the crowds (like us)? Let’s take a look at the student section.

student section

A decent showing! (Mike said that’s the most students you will see.) So Tulane’s not a football school, but it still had its share of opening game fanfare.

go green wave!

And the lack of people meant that we had great seats where I could really see the action.

football action

We even got a field goal!

field goal!

I have to admit, sometimes we weren’t paying too close of attention. Peter played with his cars, girl car and racecar.

girl car and racecar

Penny played with her toy.

penny's toy

Mike tossed Peter,

peter toss

and Amanda tossed Penny.

penny toss

While I took pictures (and played fuzzle).

wearing green

fuzzle

Some random guy started watching the crowd instead of the game.

spectator sport

But half time got us all excited again. They played a song from The Who’s Tommy, including pinballs!

The Who's Tommy

After the half, Tulane finally got a touchdown, and most of the crowd left, including us. But I’ll be back. In fact, I’ll be back next week when Tulane takes on BYU. I’ve got some posters to make before then, though. I’m thinking, “Your mom’s a cougar!”

4 comments

  1. kimmie · September 6, 2009

    Hey! You know I love being a cougar!!!

  2. Tom · September 6, 2009

    Given the big upset BYU made this weekend, you’re bound to be on TV with your cougar sign–then youtube and the world will be yours! I’ll keep a ready eye on the crowd.

  3. kellie · September 8, 2009

    HAHAHA, best. sign. ever.

  4. Damian · September 15, 2009

    I love fuzzle. it haunts my dreams. I play it on easy (where I think most people play) and I am now ranked 15th IN THE WORLD!!! My high score is 4548.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

