French Quarter in Film

Just over a month ago, I came across an old Pentax ME on Craigslist. It was cheap, and I thought it would be fun to experiment with a manual film camera, so I bought it. It looks like this:

vintage charm

It has a nice heft to it, and you can hear the film wind when you pull the lever. I first took it with me to the Quarter when our friend KK was in town visiting. I took many photos which I’m sure would have been incredible… if I had loaded the film properly. Turns out, I wasn’t really taking any photos. While Mike and Amanda were out of town, I decided to try it again. I found a video on YouTube that taught me how to load 35 mm film (sad that it’s come to this, right?) and felt confident I had it right. And then I walked around the quarter.

beautiful balcony

brass doorknob

burgundy cottage

horsehead

light streak

phychic reading

silver harlequin

silver joker

silver lady

street music

washing well

turquoise shutters

two buildings

It was exciting to pick up my photos on Monday. I couldn’t remember what I pictures I had taken. I had no idea how the lighting worked out. I wasn’t even sure everything was in focus. It reminded me of not that long ago when I would stop by Alberston’s to pick up film from whatever high school (or even some college) activity I had been to and I would sit on the bench right outside the store and eagerly go through the photos, recalling each moment it had captured. I love the ease of digital cameras and the abandon with which I can experiment, but knowing I only had 24 exposures made me think about things a little differently, too. It’s nice to have both.

4 comments

  1. Kylie · September 3, 2009

    AWESOME! I love those! I’ve been meaning to pull out my old film camera too. Thanks for reminding me! 🙂

  2. Amanda Nicholas · September 3, 2009

    Katie the colors are beautiful. I love how old and bright it looks at the same time. I love film cameras!

  3. kristy · September 4, 2009

    Kate babe, those are amazing! There’s something about click of the camera shutter that is so satisfying. And love seeing a big of film grain on my photos. Wish I was there with you to take lots of pictures together with our old manuals.

    xxx

  4. Kitty · September 7, 2009

    Lovely pictures, Katie. My favorite? The doorknob.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

