Zephyrs v. Bees

Summer Night at a Zephyrs Game

Blurry Baseball Field and Player

Last Friday I went to a Zephyrs game. I didn’t realize until I got there that they were actually playing my home team, the Salt Lake City Bees. It caused quite the ethical dilemma on my part. Who to cheer for? My old team (the only baseball team I have ever seen play) or my new team (because hey, I am a Louisiana resident now, right?). Fortunately, I didn’t have to worry about it because they didn’t end up playing. It had rained all afternoon long. Rained so much that the parking lot at my work almost flooded. I was surprised they didn’t cancel the game altogether. Instead, they had us go to the stadium and wait for an hour before the umpires determined the field wasn’t playable. But that doesn’t mean we didn’t have a good time.

It was a beautiful night. I really love baseball stadiums on a hot summer night. Who needs the game? It’s all about the experience, right? Plus, there were cheer-people there to dance for us.

Cheer-People

And they tossed out towels to screaming children.

dancing for the screaming kids

throw me something, mister!

And they still treated us to fireworks, which was half the reason I wanted to go to the game anyway.

macross fireworks

Nerd Alert! I grew up watching Macross and Robotech and all sorts of awesome shows with my brothers and now whenever I see fireworks like the ones above, I always think of missile swarms like the ones below.

nerd confession, i like anime.

And the fireworks were actually really good! I didn’t get to see any on the 4th, so this filled a gap in my life. In fact, I might want to go back every Friday home game for the rest of the season to see more fireworks. I’ll leave you with a bad picture of the grand finale.

grand finale

One comment

  1. Sally · August 29, 2009

    So, I finally updated my blog list with your new blog. And I’m glad I did . . . loved the blast from your youth and what the fireworks made you think of. I like going to baseball stadiums too, just not so much with little kids. We tried going to a Bees game last year and decided it just wasn’t worth it, atleast not till some of them grow up a little more.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

